Skip to Global Navigation Skip to Local Site Navigation Skip to Main Content


Jim Sciegel has been named the U.S. Army’s Director of Religious Education in Heidelberg, Germany. He works in the office of the Chief Chaplin of the Army in Europe.

Warren is the Associate Dean for European and Latin American Languages at the Defense Language Institute in Monterey, California. He was deployed to Baghdad on 29 February 2004. While serving our country in Iraq, Warren kept in contact with his learning group and kept up with his studies. He is now in the process of officially earning credit for the extension courses his group completed during his tour of duty.

Linda Lucarell Miller, M.R.E. '95, from Youngstown, Ohio, is Ursuline High School teacher of religious education, Liturgy Coordinator and director of El Fuego, the Liturgical Choir. She is also Lay Leader of Prayer for Diocese of Youngstown. Linda traveled to Israel last school year to set up a Triwizard program with Jewish and Arab Palestinian students at Ursuline High School. The "trialogue" included periodic live video conferences with Israel. She is currently enrolled in Doctor of Ministry program at St. Mary's Seminary in Cleveland, OH.

Lynn Zupan co-presented a workshop, with the Most. Rev. Gerald Barnes (Diocese of San Bernardino CA), at the 2005 Los Angeles Religious Education Congress. The workshop was titled “When There Are More Parishes than Priests.”

The Counseling Research Excellence Award is presented to the graduate counseling student who has demonstrated excellence in research.  This year's recipient is Laura Hogan.  Laura graduated from Tulane University in spring of 2007 with a B.S. in Psychology.

The Regina Matthews Oehmig Award for Excellence in Counseling is awarded annually to a graduating student who has earned a distinguished academic record, interacts in a professional manner with professors, classmates, clients, and supervisors, and possesses strong clinical skills. In addition, the recipient must display a commitment to the integrity of life, the demonstration of providing services to others, and embodying the warmth, compassion, and genuineness of Regina Matthews Oehmig for which the award is named.

The Counseling Clinical Excellence Award is presented to the graduate counseling student who has demonstrated excellence in clinical counseling skills. This year’s recipient is Kevin Foose.

Loyola University New Orleans Department of Counseling professor Justin Levitov, Ph.D., was awarded the Distinguished Counselor Educator Award on April 16, 2010, at the Louisiana Association for Counselor Education and Supervision’s annual conference, held at Loyola University New Orleans.

LACES serves professional counselors and human development specialists who are primarily employed as counselor educators or supervisors of counselors in school or agency settings. This division provides leadership for improving counselor preparation and supervision.


Elizabeth Allain, a second year counseling student, presented her poster entitled, "Implementing wellness interventions in children with Attention-Deficit /Hyperactivity Disorder based on a multimodal-triangular systemic approach."

Stephanie Ducros, a first year counseling student, presented her poster entitled "Adolescents and wellness: A personal growth group."

Brandon Hartenstein, a second year counseling student, presented his poster entitled, "Teachers burnout too: Developing groups to support teachers."

Ann Abbrecht, Harrison Wool, and Alexis Yankowski presented the following workshop "Plugged in: Using modern technology to connect with students."  Alexis and Harrison presented on the following topic, "Swimming with the sharks: Fighting off the cyber bullies."  Brandon Hartenstein presented, "Got teacher burnout?: Developing groups to support teachers."


Filter Results: