Skip to Global Navigation Skip to Local Site Navigation Skip to Main Content


Justin Levitov and Ellen Levitov Baxter delivered a paper presentation in Fall 2008 on self-defeating behavior at the annual Louisiana Counseling Association (LCA) Conference in Baton Rouge. The paper presentation was recently selected to be reoffered at next year’s 2009 conference. These s “Best in Show” papers are chosen based upon attendees’ evaluations and offered to a very limited number of presenters.

Stephanie E. Eberts '00, who is studying for her doctorate in Counseling at the University of Georgia, was recently awarded the Vicki E. Bowman Graduate Student Scholarship at the 2009 American Counseling Association Conference.

The Vicki E. Bowman Award honors an outstanding graduate student who is active in the study and practice of group work and who also demonstrates leadership and support roles among fellow graduate students.

Karen Kutchera CC'98, a certified family nurse practicioner, joined the Elsemore Dixfield Center to provide healthcare services in Dixfield, Maine.

Gina Herrera,  '95, is a faculty member at the Charity-Delgado School of Nursing in New Orleans.

The Charity School of Nursing, which has been in continuous operation since 1894, offers an associate of science degree in nursing.

Carmen Balthazar '08 was awarded the Regina Mathews Oehmig Award for Excellence in Counseling at the 2009 College of Social Sciences Award Ceremony. Carmen was honored for her enthusiasm for scholarly activities while maintaining a dedication to family, life, and living, and a demonstration of providing service to others with a compassion for and faith in humanity.

Leslie E. Midtbo, M.S. in 2008, is now a full-time doctoral student in the Counselor Education program at the University of New Orleans, and she also works part-time as a counselor at Family Service of Greater New Orleans. Leslie serves on the Executive Board of the Alpha Eta Chapter of Chi Sigma Iota and fully supports the mission of CSI to promote scholarship, research, professionalism, leadership and excellence in counseling.

Matthew R. Wegmann, M.S. in 2008, is in the Ph.D. program at the University of New Orleans, under the Crescent City Doctoral Scholarship Program.  He is also the School Counselor at Holy Cross High School in New Orleans.

Parke E. Smith, M.S.'08, is enrolled in the Ph. D. Program at St. Mary’s University in San Antonio, Texas.

Michaella A. Neal '94 is the Test Coordinator and School Counselor at The Ursuline Academy, located at 2635 State Street in New Orleans, Louisiana.

Dr. LeAnne Steen published several book chapters and a journal article in the last few years on play therapy, supervision, and ethics. Two of the books were publications of the American Counseling Association on Critical Incidents in Counseling, where she was selected by the editors to respond to critical incidents in a clinically appropriate way.


Filter Results: