Skip to Global Navigation Skip to Local Site Navigation Skip to Main Content


RWJBaranabas Health awarded Post-Master's to Doctor of Nursing Practice student, Mary "Megan" Allen with the New Knowledge, Innovations, and Improvements Award for her contributions to the organization. She was also honored with a scholarship from the medical and dental staff towards her continued studies in the DNP program.

Congratulations to Ms. Allen for her achievements and continued excellence in her studies in the DNP program!

Nightingale Awards

The Nightingale Award is presented to the students in each program who not only excels academically, but also demonstrates the values and dedicaton to the nursing profession espoused by Florence Nightingale. This award recognizes excellence in service to the community and to the profession as a whole.

BSN-DNP: Jessica Volz

MSN-DNP: Ellen Carlos

Nursing Leadership: Tammy VanderWoude

BSN: Ann Graham

Congratulation to Claire Mooney, DNP '18 and MSN '13 alumna, for her appointment as President and CEO of Jennersville Hospital in Pennsylvania. Prior to her permanent appointment, Dr. Mooney served as interim President and CEO since November 19, 2018, and before that she served as Chief Nursing Officer (CNO). Jennersville Hospital's press release can be found here.

Congratulations to MSN alumna and Doctor of Nursing Practice (DNP) degree student Lisa Ter Harr-Rushing. She has been nominated for the 2018 Spirit of Leadership award. These awards have acknowledged employees, leaders, physicians, and teams who demonstrate outstanding leadership qualities and make tremendous contributions to their profession. This award is an Ochsner Health System award. Her nomination comes from over 25,000 employees and Lisa is one of 355 nominees.

The Fellows of the American Association of Nurse Practitioners (FAANP) have selected Dr. Jennifer Wright, Chief Nursing Officer of the Louisiana State Board of Nursing and DNP alumna, as a 2019 Fellow. She joins a group of leaders whose scholarly and forward thinking contributions have led to meaningful improvements to healthcare and the Nurse Practitioner role. The purpose of the AANP Fellows is to impact national and global health by engaging recognized nurse practitioner’s to lead new initiatives and support the AANP mission.

Congratulations to Brent Bencel, DNP, APRN, FNP-BC on his recent publication in the Journal of the American Association of Nurse Practitioners (JAANP)!

      The American Academy of Nursing will induct the 2018 of Fellows during its annual policy conference, October 31st to November 3rd. Loyola faculty member Dr. Warren Hebert, three time graduate of Loyola School of Nursing and an assistant professor over the past two years, will be inducted with the new cohort of Fellows. Dr. Hebert joined the faculty in 2016, teaches on all three levels, and focuses on leadership, health policy and community-based care.


Doctor of Nursing Practice graduate (Loyola University New Orleans, School of Nursing; 2017) Sophia L. Thomas, DNP, FNP-BC, PPCNP-BC, FAANP, FNAP,  was elected as President of the American Association of Nurse Practitioners (AANP) in this month’s national election.  AANP represents membership of 85,000 nurse practitioners in the US and US territories. 

Dr. Angela Richard-Eaglin, a 2015 graduate of the DNP Program, will join Duke University School of Nursing's (DUSON) faculty and will lead their VA Nursing Academic Partnership in Graduate Education Program. In this role, she will be responsible for veteran centric content and clinical education within the Adult-Gerontology Primary Care NP master's program. Dr. Richard-Eaglin will be a member of DUSON's Healthcare in Adult Populations Division.
Our sincere congratulations and best wishes go out to Dr. Richard-Eaglin.

BSN-DNP student Melody Eschete has been announced as the Louisiana Association of Nurse Practitioners (LANP) Nurse Practitioner Student of the Year. This award is given to one LANP student member for her or his outstanding character, school performance, leadership, and interpersonal skills. It is the second year in a row that a Loyola University New Orleans student was awarded this honor.


Filter Results: