Skip to Global Navigation Skip to Local Site Navigation Skip to Main Content


The Fellows of the American Association of Nurse Practitioners (FAANP) have selected Dr. Laurie Anne Ferguson, Associate Professor, as a 2015 Fellow. She joins a group of leaders whose scholarly and forward thinking contributions have led to meaningful improvements to healthcare and the Nurse Practitioner role. The purpose of the AANP Fellows is to impact national and global health by engaging recognized nurse practitioner’s to lead new initiatives and support the AANP mission.

Located in Yonkers, New York, and established in 2001, the St. Augustine Foundation is a charitable organization whose mission is promoting the teaching of the Catholic Church. Its website helps to educate the faithful on Natural Family Planning (NFP), human sexuality, the virtue of chastity, marriage, conjugal love, and responsible parenthood. 

Nina Stewart was selected as the 2014-2015 recipient of the Chi Sigma Iota Outstanding Service to the Chapter Award. Nina has been invited to receive her award at the annual American Counseling Association (ACA) conference in Orlando later this spring.

Congratulations, Nina, and thank you for your service to CSI and to our community!

The newsletter was selected as the 2014-2015 recipient of the Chi Sigma Iota Outstanding Chapter Newsletter Award. Bri Cortez has been invited to receive the award at the annual American Counseling Association (ACA) conference in Orlando later this spring.

Thank you to Bri Cortez for the countless hours she spends making our amazing monthly newsletter! 

This month's Professional Case Management features an article co-authored by Dr. Lisa Linville on the process of case management delivered to participants in Head-off Environmental Asthma in Louisiana (HEAL).  The qualitative descriptive study consisted of analysis of existing data that describe the case management provided by HEAL asthma counselors to 151 children, aged 4–12 years, with moderate-severe asthma, and their families. The HEAL study (2006–09) was conducted in the New Orleans area after Hurricane Katrina.

Dr. Laurie Anne Ferguson received notification in December 2014 that she has been selected as a Distinguished Fellow in the National Academies of Practice.  “Distinguished Fellows shall require nomination by self or colleague; application, review and recommendation by the Academy of their profession; and a majority vote of the members of the NAP Council. Nominees shall be individuals who have an exemplary career of ten years or more, and are committed to interprofessional practice and accessible, affordable healthcare for all.

Julie Thomison of Texas and a Post BSN to DNP, Family Nurse Practitioner student has been selected to serve as the AACN Graduate Nursing Student Academy Liaison (GSNA) for Loyola University New Orleans. Serving in this role is an opportunity development of leadership skills and to serve as the voice for fellow graduate nursing students.  AACN formed the GNSA in 2012 to provide high value programs, services, and resources to nursing students enrolled in master’s and doctoral programs.

LIM alumnus Jim Prator has been working as a full-time hospice chaplain for the past 20+ years.  Early on, he worked as an engineer in both the oil and space industries. In the late 1970s, while running his retail nursery business in Picayune, Mississippi, Jim pursued a Master's degree at Loyola through LIM.  He wanted to help close the gap in the typical Catholic parishioner’s understanding of the Old and New Testaments, and he completed the MRE in 1979.

Loyola DNP alum Sue Hook has opened Samaritan Health and Wellness Center to provide affordable health care to the uninsured and under insured. Recently, a local TV station highlighted her success.

Loyola Counseling intramural team, Pink Freud, aptly named after the father of psychoanalysis, Sigmund Freud, went undefeated this flag football season, finishing with a 6-0 record. Led by all-star quarterback, Jenna Oncale, the Pink Freuds serged their way to victory with poise and class. Team members also included: Maggie Alewine, Kristen Centanni, Bri Cortez, Sarah Finney, Xenia Hatzilias, Carly Herron, Lynsey Hinnenkamp, Tracy Kinamore, Stephie Koch, Devin Leivo, Megan Loos, Megan Matthews, and Rachel Schaub.

Special thanks to Coach Donnie and Assistant Coach Devin.  


Filter Results: