Skip to Global Navigation Skip to Local Site Navigation Skip to Main Content

Faculty Selected as a Distinquished Fellow in the National Academies of Practice

Dr. Laurie Anne Ferguson received notification in December 2014 that she has been selected as a Distinguished Fellow in the National Academies of Practice.  “Distinguished Fellows shall require nomination by self or colleague; application, review and recommendation by the Academy of their profession; and a majority vote of the members of the NAP Council. Nominees shall be individuals who have an exemplary career of ten years or more, and are committed to interprofessional practice and accessible, affordable healthcare for all. Applicants are judged by distinguished peers to have made significant and enduring contributions in their profession. Election as a Distinguished Fellow shall be for life” (

The National Academies of Practice (NAP) is comprised of ten organizations, the first of which were founded in 1981, and limited to 100 Distinguished Practitioners in each of the ten major health professions as recognized by the Congress of the United States: Dentistry, Medicine, Nursing, Optometry, Osteopathic Medicine, Pharmacy, Podiatric Medicine, Psychology, Social Work, and Veterinary Medicine. The purpose of the Academies is to advise Congress in matters of health care practice and delivery.

Patterned after the National Academy of Sciences, membership in the National Academies of Practice is contingent upon election as a Distinguished Practitioner in one of the Academies. Chosen by their peers as persons who have made a significant and enduring contribution to practice, these Distinguished Practitioners have spent an important part of their lives in the practice of their profession. By their very stature, they have transcended the turf interests of their respective professions and are prepared to address the issue of national health. The National Academies of Practice differ from the National Academy of Sciences in that their members are practitioners who have been nationally recognized primarily for their contributions to professional practice rather than achievements in science, although many are renowned scientists as well. It is the only interdisciplinary group of practitioners dedicated to addressing the problems of practice in the interests of the citizens of the United States. It is the goal and the objective of this self-supported organization to constitute itself as the nation's interdisciplinary health policy forum .

Our sincerest congratulations go out to Dr. Ferguson for this very distinguished honor.