Skip to Global Navigation Skip to Local Site Navigation Skip to Main Content


The Regina Matthews Oehmig Award for Excellence in Counseling is awarded annually to a graduating student who has earned a distinguished academic record, interacts in a professional manner with professors, classmates, clients, and supervisors, and possesses strong clinical skills. In addition, the recipient must display a commitment to the integrity of life, the demonstration of providing services to others, and embodying the warmth, compassion, and genuineness of Regina Matthews Oehmig for which the award is named.

The Counseling Clinical Excellence Award is presented to the graduate counseling student who has demonstrated excellence in clinical counseling skills. This year’s recipient is Kevin Foose.

Loyola University New Orleans Department of Counseling professor Justin Levitov, Ph.D., was awarded the Distinguished Counselor Educator Award on April 16, 2010, at the Louisiana Association for Counselor Education and Supervision’s annual conference, held at Loyola University New Orleans.

LACES serves professional counselors and human development specialists who are primarily employed as counselor educators or supervisors of counselors in school or agency settings. This division provides leadership for improving counselor preparation and supervision.


Elizabeth Allain, a second year counseling student, presented her poster entitled, "Implementing wellness interventions in children with Attention-Deficit /Hyperactivity Disorder based on a multimodal-triangular systemic approach."

Stephanie Ducros, a first year counseling student, presented her poster entitled "Adolescents and wellness: A personal growth group."

Brandon Hartenstein, a second year counseling student, presented his poster entitled, "Teachers burnout too: Developing groups to support teachers."

Ann Abbrecht, Harrison Wool, and Alexis Yankowski presented the following workshop "Plugged in: Using modern technology to connect with students."  Alexis and Harrison presented on the following topic, "Swimming with the sharks: Fighting off the cyber bullies."  Brandon Hartenstein presented, "Got teacher burnout?: Developing groups to support teachers."

Laura and Sheree's presentation was entitled, "Why systems theory makes students better counselors: How to relate more effectively."

On Wednesday, February 24th, fourteen new students were initiated into Loyola's chapter of the Chi Sigma Iota Honor Society, the international honor society for professional counselors, counselor educators, and students.  Students honored included:  Sarah Bodden, Meredith Cheesman, Stephanie Ducros, Trichell Dumas, Mariel Gonzalez, Michelle Comeaux Hernandez, Joshua Hurst, Sherry Jackson, Joanika Leblanc, Stephanie Robinson, Amelia Sherman, Stephanie Shorts, and Nicole Snyder. Congratulations to the new inductees!

Dr. Dwyer was awarded the 2010 Meritorious Service Award by the Louisiana Association for Marriage and Family Therapy.

Conference Presentations

Dwyer, T. F. & Thomas, F. N. (2010, February). Just do it: The therapist’s recursive relationship of being and acting with couples in therapy. Presented at the annual conference of the Louisiana Division of AAMFT Annual Conference, Baton Rouge, LA.

Dwyer, T. F., Hay, G. N, & Parish, W. E. (2010, February). From many paths, a sacred unity: Interconnection in systemic practice. Presented at the annual conference of the Louisiana Division of AAMFT Annual Conference, Baton Rouge, LA.


Counseling student, Stephanie Robinson, was accepted to present at the Association for Specialist in Group Work (ASGW) conference with faculty member, Dr. Christine Ebrahim. Stephanie and Dr. Ebrahim will be presenting, "Proposed group for children of combat-related PTSD veterans."


Filter Results: